12 steps: #1

Today I found an interesting picture with 12 steps to self care and I couldn’t agree more. So I thought that I’d make a series of posts, each containing one of the steps and my view on each step. So this is the first:

1. If it feels wrong, don’t do it.

This is a good first point I think, because if you constantly do things that you don’t like or that doesn’t fell right, you’ll probably end up unhappy one way or another. This could involve anything; weight, work, hobbies, friends, family…

Let me tell you a story. Ever since I was a little girl I’ve been overweight and I’ve always heard that I have to loose weight and that it’s not good for me. I’ve been teased and bullied because of my weight and always felt like an outcast. I’ve tried to loose my excess fat for as long as I can remember but I’ve always ended the diet and gained the weight again. I’m 25 years old today and it’s first now that I’ve realized why my previous attempts haven’t worked. I didn’t really want to loose weight. Not really.

I think that the problem here is that too many listen to everyone else but themselves. Please stop! Listen to what you want and what fells right for you! It’s your life and no one else is living it! If you want to be fat, thin, bisexual, gay, straight, have blue hair or piercings, do it! If you want to focus on your career or just work to live, do it. Do what makes you happy so that you some day can die with a smile on your face.

Leave a Reply

